Chatham Maritime Trust is constituted as a company limited by guarantee

The Trust has four Member organisations:

  • Medway Council
  • HCA, formerly South East England Development Agency (SEEDA) – now known as Homes England 
  • St Mary’s Island Residents Association (SMIRA) – the residents’ association open to all property owners on the development north of the basins, known as St Mary’s Island
  • South Maritime Residents Ltd – the association for businesses on the southern part of the development, known as the South Maritime Estate (a.k.a. the South of Basin Estate)

These Member organisations have the right to nominate Trustees to the Board of the Trust. Medway Council, SMIRA and South Maritime may each nominate two Trustees, HCA one. The Board also contains a number of “Independent Trustees” who have no affiliation with the Member organisations, but who typically have strong local connections and relevant skills or expertise. There are typically three to six Independents at any time.

Trustee Profiles

Habib Tejan

Habib Tejan, Medway Council

Habib Tejan is a dedicated community leader and politician who has served as a Director…

Read More

Tanya Ferry Independent

Tanya Ferry is a passionate and active environmentalist professional with years of experience in aquatic…

Read More

Paul Barnard – Independent

Paul is the Chief Operating Officer at Chatham Historic Dockyard Trust and a key member…

Read More
Deborah Sims

Deborah Sims – Independent

Deborah is a Senior Lecturer in the School of Engineering at the University of Greenwich…

Read More
Kelly Tolhurst

Kelly Tolhurst MP, Independent

Kelly was born and bred in Medway and currently lives in Rochester. She is a…

Read More

Lauren Edwards, Medway Council

Lauren Edwards is the Cabinet Member for Economic and Social Regeneration and Inward Investment in…

Read More

Matthew Brown, Homes England

Matthew Brown is a Senior Development Manager with Homes England and has extensive knowledge of…

Read More

Chris Reynolds, SMIRA

Chris Reynolds has lived on St. Mary's Island since 2013.  He spent the majority of…

Read More

Mona Koushkouei, SMIRA

Mona Koushkouei was appointed SMIRA's nominated Director on the Chatham Maritime Trust Board effective 4th…

Read More
David Taylor

David Taylor, Independent

David is an independent Trustee.  David is a Chartered Mechanical Engineer designing, manufacturing and installing…

Read More
Anthony Sutton

Anthony Sutton, SouthCo

Anthony was born in Kent and has enjoyed a career in retail and property management…

Read More
Bob Russell

Bob Russell, SouthCo

Bob is the Chairman of Beams International Ltd, which he founded in 1997 having set-up…

Read More
Back To Top